ARIA is governed by a steering committee with members from Australia's leading immunisation research institutions. The steering committee provides strategic leadership and is responsible for ensuring ARIA’s guiding principles underpin its work and that ARIA achieves its goals.

The steering committee comprises:

  • Professor Kristine Macartney, Director, NCIRS (Chair)
  • Professor Fiona Russell, Team Leader/Principal Research Fellow, Infection and Immunity, The University of Melbourne (Deputy Chair)
  • Professor Ross Andrews, Research Fellow, Australian National University  
  • Professor David Durrheim, The University of Newcastle
  • Professor Julie Leask, Senior Research Fellow, The University of Sydney
  • Lisa Davidson, Co-head Global Health: Policy, Practice and Community Action, Burnet Institute
  • Dr Joshua Francis, Paediatric Infectious Diseases Specialist and Clinical Fellow, Menzies School of Health Research
  • Professor John Kaldor, Senior Principal Research Fellow, The Kirby Institute
  • Associate Professor Christopher Blyth, Paediatric Infectious Diseases Specialist and Research Fellow, University of Western Australia
  • Professor Chris Morgan, Honorary Senior Principal Research Fellow, Burnet institute; Senior Technical Advisor (Immunization), Jhpiego
  • Dr Meru Sheel, Infectious Disease Epidemiologist, Australian National University  


The National Centre for Immunisation Research and Surveillance (NCIRS) provided financial support for the establishment of ARIA, with ARIA members and their organisations providing in-kind contributions. Ongoing costs for the ARIA secretariat are contributed to in various ways, including funding from NCIRS, in-kind contributions from ARIA member organisations and donor funding. To ensure sustainability of ARIA, additional funding will be sourced from donors and potentially from philanthropic sources.

ARIA also receives multi-year funding support from the Australian Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade through its Indo-Pacific Centre for Health Security.



Last updated September 2020